20 Global Stablecoins Establish An International Standards Body

    In response to crypto developments, 15 companies issuing 20 different stablecoins formed a new body to represent the market.

    The body, called the Stablecoin Standard, will launch in the coming weeks as an effort to create a set of standards that will boost user confidence.

    Christian Walker, a founding partner of Stablecoins Standard, said that the body was initially based on a natural partnership between various stablecoins not pegged to the US dollar.

    “In the summer of 2022, a small but intentional group of stablecoin projects started talking and swapping best practices. Since then, we have grown to a community of 20 different currencies.”

    Walker, head of partnerships at, the first regulated issuer of the GBP stablecoin, noted the group will represent “the true international diversity of stablecoins present today.”

    “Although 99% of the $145 billion global stablecoin market-cap is currently tied to the US Dollar, recent developments have shown how important it is for this to change.”

    The team will recognize a variety of stablecoins, and the films that issue them with a Quality Badge show they adhere to minimum industry standards. According to Walker, this fosters user confidence as it presents different use cases for US dollar-pegged stablecoins.

    Stablecoin Standard currently includes cryptocurrencies pegged to euro (EUR), US dollar (USD), British pound (GBP), Japanese yen (YEN), Chinese yuan (CNY), Singapore dollar ( SGD), Canadian dollar (CAD), Hong Kong dollar (HKD), Australian dollar (AUD), Indonesian Rupiah (IDR), New Zealand dollar (NZD), Turkish lira (TRY), Brazilian real ( BRL), South African rand (ZAR), Chilean peso (CLP), Argentine peso (ARG), Swiss franc (CHF), Peruvian sol (PEN), Icelandic krona (ISK) and Nigerian naira (NGN).

    Most Popular

    Related Posts